In the surrounding area

Staden is a rural municipality, consisting of Staden, Oostnieuwkerke and Westrozebeke. It is a place where the landscape allows you to relax. The beautiful view from Staden’s hills allows you to see up to Ypres and the West Flemish hills.

Westrozebeke Hills form a prominent feature of the relief. The Mandel and Luikebeek (stream) are etched into the landscape. Hiking trails and bicycle paths lead visitors along surprisingly nice and quiet nooks.

Besides the valuable agrarian landscape, Staden also offers other elements of nature. The Middle West Flemish ridge stretches from Esen (Dixmude), Klerken (Houthulst), Stadenberg, Westrozebeke, Passendale, Zonnebeke to finally go into the West Flemish hills. Part of the ridge forms the watershed between the Yser and the Leie.

Previously, the region around Staden was forested. Vrijbos in Houthulst is a remainder.

Dans les environs

Staden est une municipalité rurale, constituée de Staden, Oostnieuwkerke et Westrozebeke. C’est un endroit où on peut apprécier le paysage en toute tranquillité. La vue splendide à partir des collines de Staden s’étend jusqu’à Ypres et les collines de la Flandre Occidentale.

Les collines de Westrozebeke forment un élément marquant du relief. Le Mandel et le Luikebeek (ruisseau) sont gravés dans le paysage. Des sentiers balisés pédestres et pistes cyclables mènent les visiteurs le long de coins étonnamment tranquilles et jolis.

Outre le précieux paysage agraire, Staden offre également d’autres éléments de la nature. La crête du milieu de la Flandre-Occidentale s’étend de Esen (Dixmude), Klerken (Houthulst), Stadenberg, Westrozebeke, Passendale, Zonnebeke, pour enfin continuer dans les collines de la Flandre-Occidentale. Une partie de la crête forme la ligne de partage des eaux de l’Yser et de la Lys.

Auparavant, la région autour de Staden était boisée. Vrijbos à Houthulst en est un vestige.